The Federal University of Technology, Ikot Abasi (FUTIA) has released its approved fees for the 2026/2027 academic session: new students pay ₦209,000 (non-engineering) or ₦214,000 (engineering) including the ₦30,000 acceptance fee, while returning students pay ₦139,000 or ₦144,000 per session.
Hostel accommodation is ₦80,000 for every category, and the university has abolished the 70%–30% installment plan, so 100% of fees must now be paid at registration. Here is the complete breakdown, line by line.
Key Highlights
| Item | Details |
|---|---|
| New student fees | ₦209,000 (non-engineering) to ₦214,000 (engineering), acceptance fee included |
| Returning student fees | ₦139,000 (non-engineering) to ₦144,000 (engineering) per session |
| Acceptance fee | ₦30,000 (new students only, one-time) |
| Hostel fee | ₦80,000 per session (on/off campus) |
| Payment rule | 100% payment at registration; 70%–30% installment abolished |
| Payment platform | Not stated on the schedule; confirm on the official website |
| Source | FUTIA Office of the Bursar, approved fees and charges, as of September 23, 2026 |
About FUTIA
The Federal University of Technology, Ikot Abasi (FUTIA) is a federal university in Ikot Abasi, Akwa Ibom State. The Federal Government approved its establishment in June 2021 as one of two new universities of technology, alongside the one sited in Jigawa State. It focuses on STEM programmes, including engineering, computing and the pure and applied sciences.
Because FUTIA is a young institution, its fee structure is still being settled from session to session. That makes it important to work from the current Bursar’s schedule rather than fees quoted for earlier sessions.
FUTIA School Fees 2026/2027
FUTIA management, through the Office of the Bursar, has officially released the approved fees and charges for fresh and returning students for the 2026/2027 session. The schedule separates students into two groups: engineering students and all other students.
Always verify the latest fees on the official website at futia.edu.ng before making payment. Fees are subject to change by management.
Fee Summary
| Student Category | Charges Before Acceptance | Acceptance Fee | Total Payable |
|---|---|---|---|
| New students (non-engineering) | ₦179,000 | ₦30,000 | ₦209,000 |
| New students (engineering) | ₦184,000 | ₦30,000 | ₦214,000 |
| Returning students (non-engineering) | ₦139,000 | Nil | ₦139,000 |
| Returning students (engineering) | ₦144,000 | Nil | ₦144,000 |
The ₦5,000 gap between engineering and non-engineering students comes from a single item: the Students’ Work Experience Programme (SWEP) charge, which applies to engineering students only.
FUTIA School Fees for Engineering and Non-Engineering Students 2026/2027
FUTIA does not list a separate tuition line. The total is made up of itemised charges, shown below exactly as approved by the Bursar. “Nil” means the charge does not apply to that category.
| S/N | Charge | New (Non-Engr.) | New (Engr.) | Returning (Non-Engr.) | Returning (Engr.) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| — | Acceptance Fee | ₦30,000 | ₦30,000 | Nil | Nil |
| 1 | Caution Fee | ₦10,000 | ₦10,000 | Nil | Nil |
| 2 | Examination | ₦10,000 | ₦10,000 | ₦10,000 | ₦10,000 |
| 3 | Students Health Insurance Programme (TISHIP) | ₦3,000 | ₦3,000 | ₦3,000 | ₦3,000 |
| 4 | Students Handbook | ₦5,000 | ₦5,000 | Nil | Nil |
| 5 | Students Dues (Students’ Week) | ₦2,000 | ₦2,000 | ₦2,000 | ₦2,000 |
| 6 | Games/Sports | ₦5,000 | ₦5,000 | ₦5,000 | ₦5,000 |
| 7 | Library | ₦5,000 | ₦5,000 | ₦5,000 | ₦5,000 |
| 8 | Medical Examination | ₦5,000 | ₦5,000 | ₦5,000 | ₦5,000 |
| 9 | Identity Card | ₦5,000 | ₦5,000 | Nil | Nil |
| 10 | Laboratory/Workshop/Studio | ₦15,000 | ₦15,000 | ₦15,000 | ₦15,000 |
| 11 | ICT | ₦15,000 | ₦15,000 | ₦15,000 | ₦15,000 |
| 12 | Development Levy | ₦15,000 | ₦15,000 | ₦15,000 | ₦15,000 |
| 13 | Utility | ₦20,000 | ₦20,000 | ₦20,000 | ₦20,000 |
| 14 | Registration Fees | ₦13,000 | ₦13,000 | ₦13,000 | ₦13,000 |
| 15 | Matriculation | ₦10,000 | ₦10,000 | Nil | Nil |
| 16 | Security | ₦10,000 | ₦10,000 | ₦10,000 | ₦10,000 |
| 17 | Entry Qualification Verification | ₦5,000 | ₦5,000 | Nil | Nil |
| 18 | Orientation Fees | ₦5,000 | ₦5,000 | Nil | Nil |
| 19 | SWEP (Engineering students only) | Nil | ₦5,000 | Nil | ₦5,000 |
| 20 | NUGA Special Levy | ₦1,000 | ₦1,000 | ₦1,000 | ₦1,000 |
| 21 | Teaching Materials Fees | ₦5,000 | ₦5,000 | ₦5,000 | ₦5,000 |
| 22 | Entrepreneurship | ₦10,000 | ₦10,000 | ₦10,000 | ₦10,000 |
| 23 | Sanitation | ₦5,000 | ₦5,000 | ₦5,000 | ₦5,000 |
| Sub-Total (items 1–23) | ₦179,000 | ₦184,000 | ₦139,000 | ₦144,000 | |
| Total (with acceptance fee) | ₦209,000 | ₦214,000 | ₦139,000 | ₦144,000 |
Fees are per session. Source: FUTIA Office of the Bursar, approved fees and charges for fresh and returning students, 2026/2027 session, confirmed September 23, 2026.
Charges only new students pay
New students carry seven charges that returning students do not: the acceptance fee (₦30,000), caution fee (₦10,000), students handbook (₦5,000), identity card (₦5,000), matriculation (₦10,000), entry qualification verification (₦5,000) and orientation fees (₦5,000). Together these account for ₦70,000 of the difference between new and returning totals.
FUTIA Hostel Fee and Estimated Total Cost 2026/2027
The schedule lists accommodation (on/off campus) at ₦80,000 for all four student categories. Budget for it on top of the fees above if you plan to take a bed space.
| Student Type | Fees | + Hostel (₦80,000) | Grand Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| New student, non-engineering | ₦209,000 | ₦80,000 | ₦289,000 |
| New student, engineering | ₦214,000 | ₦80,000 | ₦294,000 |
| Returning student, non-engineering | ₦139,000 | ₦80,000 | ₦219,000 |
| Returning student, engineering | ₦144,000 | ₦80,000 | ₦224,000 |
Students who live off campus pay ₦209,000 to ₦214,000 (new) or ₦139,000 to ₦144,000 (returning), plus their own rent and living costs.
FUTIA 100% Payment Policy: Installments Abolished
The approved schedule carries one important note: 100% fee payment is required at the point of registration, and the previous 70%–30% installment payment arrangement is abolished. Students who paid in two parts in earlier sessions should plan to pay the full amount before registering for 2026/2027.
How to Pay FUTIA School Fees 2026/2027
The Bursar’s schedule sets the amounts and the 100% payment rule but does not name a payment platform or publish a step-by-step payment guide. To avoid fraud, follow the process below and rely only on FUTIA’s official channels.
Step 1: Identify Your Category
Confirm whether you are a new or returning student and whether you are in an engineering programme. Your total is one of the four figures in the fee summary above.
Step 2: Go to the Official Website
Visit futia.edu.ng and follow the links or notices for student fees and registration. Do not pay through links shared by agents, social media strangers or unofficial groups.
Step 3: Get Your Payment Invoice or Details From the Official Channel
Use the invoice, payment reference or account details issued through FUTIA’s official portal or bursary notice. Pay only through the channel shown there.
Step 4: Pay the Full Amount
Pay the exact amount for your category. Because installments are abolished, partial payment will not complete your registration.
Step 5: Save Your Receipt
Keep a printed and digital copy of your receipt. You will need it for registration and clearance.
⚠️ For payment problems, contact the FUTIA Bursar’s office through the contact details on futia.edu.ng. Do not send money to individuals.
How FUTIA Fees Compare to a Similar School
| School | Type | Fees | Notable Feature |
|---|---|---|---|
| FUTIA (this guide, 2026/2027) | Federal university of technology | ₦179,000–₦184,000 (new, before acceptance); ₦139,000–₦144,000 (returning) | Acceptance fee ₦30,000; installments abolished |
| FUTA, Akure (2025/2026, latest schedule we could verify) | Federal university of technology | ₦258,000 (new, before acceptance); ₦68,000–₦80,500 (returning) | Acceptance fee ₦50,000 |
FUTIA’s returning-student fees are higher than FUTA’s, while its fresher fees are lower. The FUTA figures are from the previous session and are shown for reference only.
📚 Also on CampusNinja:
Frequently Asked Questions: FUTIA School Fees
How much are FUTIA school fees for 2026/2027?
FUTIA school fees for 2026/2027 range from ₦139,000 to ₦214,000 per session. New students pay ₦209,000 (non-engineering) or ₦214,000 (engineering), including the acceptance fee. Returning students pay ₦139,000 (non-engineering) or ₦144,000 (engineering). Source: FUTIA Office of the Bursar, September 2026.
What is the FUTIA acceptance fee?
The FUTIA acceptance fee for 2026/2027 is ₦30,000 for both engineering and non-engineering students. It is paid once by new students only. Returning students do not pay it.
How much is FUTIA school fees for engineering students?
Engineering students pay ₦214,000 as new students (acceptance fee included) and ₦144,000 as returning students. This is ₦5,000 more than non-engineering students because of the SWEP charge.
How much is FUTIA school fees for non-engineering students?
Non-engineering students pay ₦209,000 as new students (acceptance fee included) and ₦139,000 as returning students. This category covers all students outside the engineering programmes.
Can I pay FUTIA school fees in installments?
No. The Bursar’s schedule states that 100% of fees must be paid at the point of registration, and the 70%–30% installment payment is abolished. Contact the Bursar’s office through futia.edu.ng to confirm if any exception applies to you.
What is the FUTIA hostel fee for 2026/2027?
The FUTIA accommodation fee is ₦80,000 per session for all student categories, as listed in the schedule for on/off campus accommodation. Check futia.edu.ng for how bed spaces are allocated.
Does FUTIA charge tuition?
The approved schedule does not list a separate tuition line. Fees are made up of 23 itemised charges such as examination, ICT, laboratory, utility, development levy and registration fees, plus the acceptance fee for new students.
What is the caution fee at FUTIA?
The caution fee is ₦10,000 and is charged to new students only. It appears as item 1 on the approved schedule. Ask the Bursar’s office about the refund terms, as the schedule does not state them.
Is FUTIA a federal university?
Yes. FUTIA is a federal university of technology in Ikot Abasi, Akwa Ibom State, established by the Federal Government of Nigeria in 2021. To check the accreditation status of a specific programme, visit nuc.edu.ng.
Scholarships and Financial Aid
Students who need help with fees can explore the following:
- Nigerian Education Loan Fund (NELFUND): A federal loan programme for students in eligible institutions. Visit nelfund.gov.ng to check eligibility and apply.
- FUTIA notices: Watch futia.edu.ng and the university’s official social media pages for any scholarship or bursary announcements.
Final Thoughts
FUTIA school fees for 2026/2027 are ₦139,000–₦214,000 per session, making it a fairly affordable option among federal universities of technology, with the ₦30,000 acceptance fee as the main one-off cost for fresh students. The end of installment payment means you should have the full amount ready before registration. Before making any payment, confirm the latest figures at futia.edu.ng. If you are also comparing other schools, see our FUTO cut-off mark page and the University of Abuja school fees breakdown, and drop your questions in the comments. We respond to every one.
Source: Fee information in this article is sourced from the official FUTIA Office of the Bursar schedule of approved fees and charges for fresh and returning students, 2026/2027 session, corroborated by a republication on allschool.ng, as of September 23, 2026. This page will be updated as soon as any changes to the fee structure are announced. If you notice a discrepancy between our figures and what appears on the official website, alert us immediately in the comments below.
⚠️ Disclaimer: School fees are subject to change by the institution at any time. Always verify on the official FUTIA website before making payment. CampusNinja is not affiliated with the Federal University of Technology, Ikot Abasi and cannot be held responsible for fee changes made after our last update date.
