School Fees

ABU School Fees 2026/2027: Revised Charges Suspended

Make this easier to read

Update, 8 October 2026: Ahmadu Bello University (ABU) has suspended implementation of the revised student charges while it holds further consultations with students and other stakeholders.

The tables below reproduce the schedule announced on 5 October 2026 for the 2026/2027 session. They are retained for reference and must not be treated as confirmed current payment amounts. The suspension notice does not give replacement rates. Check your assessment and payment instructions through ABU’s official channels before paying.

Key Highlights

  • Suspended schedule, new students (100L): ₦152,000 to ₦242,000 per session; not confirmed current payment amounts
  • Suspended schedule, returning students (200L–600L): ₦143,000 to ₦298,000 per session; not confirmed current payment amounts
  • Acceptance fee: Not itemised in the 2026/2027 bulletin
  • Hostel fee: Not stated in the bulletin
  • Payment platform: ABU students’ portal (portal.abu.edu.ng)
  • Payment deadline: Not stated; check the portal and official ABU notices
  • Sources: ABU Special Bulletin, Vol. 18, No. 65, dated 5 October 2026; implementation suspended by the 8 October 2026 notice, Vol. 18, No. 67

About Ahmadu Bello University

Ahmadu Bello University (ABU) was established in 1962 and is located in Zaria, Kaduna State. It is a federal university accredited by the National Universities Commission (NUC) and offers programmes across more than a dozen faculties, from Medicine, Pharmacy and Engineering to Law, Arts and Education.

ABU’s Governing Council approved the revised undergraduate charges at its meeting on 29 September 2026, following a Senate resolution of 24 September 2026. The schedule was announced for 2026/2027, but implementation was suspended on 8 October 2026 pending further consultation.

ABU School Fees 2026/2027

ABU announced the revised undergraduate registration schedule in its nine-page bulletin dated 5 October 2026. Implementation was suspended on 8 October. The figures below describe that suspended schedule, not confirmed current payment amounts.

Always verify the latest fees on the official ABU portal at https://portal.abu.edu.ng/ before making payment. Fees are subject to change by management.

Suspended fee schedule: summary

Student CategoryAmount in the suspended scheduleAcceptance FeeNotes
New students (100L)₦152,000 – ₦242,000Not itemisedLowest: most Administration, Arts, Business and Social Sciences programmes; highest: Medicine and Surgery and Dental Surgery
Returning students (200L–600L)₦143,000 – ₦298,000Not applicableLowest: several 200L and 300L programmes; highest: 600L Medicine and Surgery (MBBS)
All Nigerian undergraduates₦143,000 – ₦298,000Not itemised114 programme listings

Suspended ABU fee schedule by course, 2026/2027

All amounts in the faculty tables below are in naira (₦) and reproduce the 5 October bulletin’s “TOTAL — Nigerians” column. Implementation of that schedule is suspended. These figures are reference data, not current payment instructions. Foreign-student figures from the same suspended bulletin appear separately below.

Read across the row to find the amount listed for your programme and level in the suspended schedule. A dash means the bulletin does not list that level for that programme; it does not mean the fee is zero. Similar programme names are kept separate where ABU lists them separately.

Administration

Programme100L200L300L400L
B.A Local Government & Development Studies152,000143,000143,000158,000
B.Sc Public Administration152,000143,000143,000158,000

Agriculture

Programme100L200L300L400L500L
B. Agriculture172,000163,000183,000178,000158,000
B. Fisheries and Aquaculture172,000163,000163,000178,000158,000
B. Forestry and Wildlife172,000163,000163,000178,000158,000
B.Sc Agricultural Extension172,000163,000163,000178,000158,000

Allied Health Sciences

Programme100L200L300L400L500L
BNSc. Nursing Science212,000203,000223,000238,000218,000
Medical Laboratory Science212,000203,000203,000218,000218,000
Medical Radiography212,000203,000203,000238,000218,000

Arts

Programme100L200L300L400L
B.A Arabic152,000143,000143,000158,000
B.A Archaeology152,000183,000183,000198,000
B.A Archaeology/History152,000183,000183,000198,000
B.A English (Drama)152,000143,000143,000158,000
B.A English (Language)152,000143,000143,000158,000
B.A English (Literature)152,000143,000143,000158,000
B.A French152,000143,000143,000158,000
B.A Hausa152,000143,000143,000158,000
B.A History152,000143,000143,000158,000
B.A Theatre and Performing Arts152,000163,000183,000178,000

Basic Medical Sciences

Programme100L200L300L400L
B.Sc Human Anatomy172,000173,000173,000188,000
B.Sc Human Physiology172,000173,000193,000188,000

Business School

Programme100L200L300L400L
B.Sc Accounting152,000143,000143,000158,000
B.Sc Actuarial Science152,000143,000143,000158,000
B.Sc Banking & Finance152,000143,000143,000158,000
B.Sc Business Administration152,000143,000143,000158,000
B.Sc Business Management152,000143,000143,000158,000
B.Sc Economics152,000143,000143,000158,000
B.Sc Insurance152,000143,000143,000158,000
B.Sc Marketing152,000143,000143,000158,000

Clinical Sciences

Programme100L200L300L400L500L600L
Medicine and Surgery (MBBS)242,000283,000263,000258,000258,000298,000

Dentistry

Programme100L200L300L400L500L600L
Dental Surgery (BDS)242,000263,000263,000258,000258,000278,000

Education

Programme100L200L300L400L
B.A. (Ed) Arabic162,000143,000143,000178,000
B.Ed (Education Foundation and Curriculum)152,000143,000143,000178,000
B.Ed (Education Psychology and Counselling)152,000143,000143,000178,000
B.Ed Adult Education152,000143,000163,000178,000
B.Ed Arabic Education152,000143,000143,000178,000
B.Ed Biology Education172,000163,000183,000178,000
B.Ed Chemistry Education172,000163,000183,000178,000
B.Ed Christian Religious Studies152,000143,000143,000178,000
B.Ed Creative Art152,000143,000143,000178,000
B.Ed Economics Education162,000153,000153,000188,000
B.Ed Education Administration and Planning152,000143,000163,000178,000
B.Ed Geography Education162,000173,000213,000168,000
B.Ed Guidance and Counselling152,000143,000143,000198,000
B.Ed Hausa Education152,000143,000143,000178,000
B.Ed Home Economics162,000153,000153,000188,000
B.Ed Integrated Science162,000153,000173,000168,000
B.Ed Islamic Religious Studies152,000143,000143,000178,000
B.Ed Language Arts152,000143,000143,000178,000
B.Ed Mathematics Education162,000153,000173,000168,000
B.Ed Physics Education162,000153,000173,000168,000
B.Ed Science Education162,000153,000173,000168,000
B.Ed Social Studies152,000143,000143,000178,000
B.Sc (Ed) Agriculture Education162,000153,000153,000158,000
B.Sc (Ed) Business Education162,000153,000153,000178,000
B.Sc (Ed) Computer Science Education172,000163,000183,000178,000
B.Sc (Ed) Computer Science Education (Special)172,000163,000183,000178,000
B.Sc (Ed) Health Education162,000153,000173,000178,000
B.Sc (Ed) Human Kinetics162,000153,000153,000188,000
BLIS (Bachelor of Library & Information Science)162,000153,000173,000168,000
BS.Ed Human Kinetics Health Education162,000153,000153,000188,000

Engineering

Programme100L200L300L400L500L
B Eng. Mining and Minerals Engineering172,000208,000213,000188,000188,000
B.Eng. Agricultural Engineering172,000188,000173,000188,000188,000
B.Eng. Agricultural and Bio-Resources Engineering172,000188,000173,000188,000188,000
B.Eng. Automotive Engineering172,000188,000173,000188,000188,000
B.Eng. Chemical Engineering172,000188,000173,000188,000188,000
B.Eng. Civil Engineering172,000188,000173,000188,000188,000
B.Eng. Communications Engineering172,000188,000173,000188,000188,000
B.Eng. Computer Engineering172,000188,000173,000188,000188,000
B.Eng. Electrical Engineering172,000188,000173,000188,000188,000
B.Eng. Mechanical Engineering172,000188,000173,000188,000188,000
B.Eng. Mechatronics Engineering172,000188,000173,000188,000188,000
B.Eng. Metallurgical and Materials Engineering172,000188,000173,000188,000188,000
B.Eng. Polymer and Textile Engineering172,000188,000173,000188,000188,000
B.Eng. Water Resources & Environmental Engineering172,000188,000173,000188,000188,000
B.Sc Land Surveying172,000188,000173,000188,000188,000

Environmental Design

Programme100L200L300L400L500L
B.A Fine Arts172,000183,000223,000178,000—
B.A Industrial Design172,000183,000223,000178,000—
B.Eng. Geomatic Engineering172,000163,000203,000198,000178,000
B.Glass and Silicate Technology172,000183,000223,000178,000178,000
B.Sc Architecture172,000183,000223,000178,000—
B.Sc Building172,000163,000203,000218,000178,000
B.Sc Geomatics172,000163,000203,000218,000178,000
B.Sc Glass Technology172,000183,000223,000178,000—
B.Sc Quantity Surveying172,000163,000203,000218,000178,000
B.Urban & Regional Planning172,000163,000203,000218,000178,000
B.Sc Procurement Management172,000163,000203,000218,000—
B.Sc Sustainable Environmental Studies172,000163,000203,000218,000178,000

Law

Programme100L200L300L400L500L
LLB Civil Law182,000203,000203,000198,000218,000
LLB With Specialization in Islamic Law182,000203,000203,000198,000218,000

Life Sciences

Programme100L200L300L400L
B.Sc Biochemistry172,000163,000183,000178,000
B.Sc Biology172,000163,000203,000218,000
B.Sc Botany172,000163,000203,000218,000
B.Sc Microbiology172,000163,000183,000178,000
B.Sc Zoology172,000163,000203,000218,000

Pharmaceutical Sciences

Programme100L200L300L400L500L600L
B.Pharmacy232,000203,000243,000258,000258,000—
Doctor of Pharmacy (Pharm.D)232,000203,000243,000258,000238,000258,000

Physical Sciences

Programme100L200L300L400L500L
B.Sc Chemistry172,000163,000183,000178,000—
B.Sc Computer Science172,000163,000183,000178,000—
B.Sc Geography172,000183,000223,000178,000—
B.Sc Geology172,000183,000223,000218,000—
B.Sc Mathematics172,000163,000183,000178,000—
B.Sc Mathematics with Computer Science172,000163,000183,000178,000—
B.Sc Physics172,000163,000183,000178,000—
B.Sc Polymer & Textile Science172,000163,000183,000158,000178,000
B.Sc Statistics172,000163,000183,000178,000—
B.Sc Textile Science & Technology172,000163,000183,000158,000178,000

Social Sciences

Programme100L200L300L400L
B.Sc International Studies152,000143,000143,000158,000
B.Sc Mass Communication162,000153,000153,000168,000
B.Sc Political Science152,000143,000143,000158,000
B.Sc Sociology162,000153,000153,000168,000
B.Sc Sustainable Social Development162,000153,000153,000168,000
B.Sc Criminology and Security Studies162,000153,000153,000168,000

Veterinary Medicine

Programme100L200L300L400L500L600L
Veterinary Medicine (DVM)232,000243,000263,000238,000258,000258,000

Suspended schedule: ABU tuition fees for non-Nigerian students

The suspended 5 October bulletin has two separate tuition columns for non-Nigerian residents and non-Nigerian non-residents. These are different categories from the Nigerian registration totals above. It does not explain how other charges apply to the foreign categories, so these figures are not a complete bill or current payment instructions. Confirm current charges with ABU.

Faculty/schoolNon-Nigerian residents: tuitionNon-Nigerian non-residents: tuition
Administration₦300,000₦2,050,000
Agriculture₦350,000₦2,460,000
Allied Health Sciences₦450,000₦4,100,000
Arts₦300,000₦2,050,000–₦4,100,000
Basic Medical Sciences₦450,000₦4,100,000
Business School₦300,000₦2,050,000
Clinical Sciences₦450,000₦4,100,000
Dentistry₦450,000₦4,100,000
Education₦300,000₦2,050,000
Engineering₦400,000₦3,280,000
Environmental Design₦400,000₦3,280,000
Law₦450,000₦3,280,000
Life Sciences₦350,000₦2,460,000
Pharmaceutical Sciences₦450,000₦4,100,000
Physical Sciences₦350,000₦2,460,000
Social Sciences₦300,000₦2,050,000
Veterinary Medicine₦450,000₦4,100,000

Arts needs a programme-level check. In the suspended bulletin, non-resident tuition is listed as ₦4,100,000 for Arabic, Archaeology, Archaeology/History, the three English programmes, French, Hausa and History. Theatre and Performing Arts is listed as ₦4,100,000 at 100 level and ₦2,050,000 at 200–400 level. These figures remain a record of that schedule, not confirmed payable charges.

Other Fees: Acceptance, Hostel, Instalments and Deadline

The 5 October bulletin gives registration totals rather than an item-by-item breakdown. Its implementation is suspended. The following points describe what that bulletin did and did not state; current payment questions need separate confirmation from ABU:

QuestionWhat the suspended 5 October bulletin states
Acceptance feeNo separate acceptance-fee amount is itemised. The bulletin does not say whether an acceptance-related charge is included in the total.
Hostel accommodationNo hostel price is stated. Confirm the applicable charge through a current accommodation notice or the portal.
Instalment paymentNo instalment arrangement is stated. Confirm an approved arrangement before making a part-payment.
Per-semester paymentThe schedule was announced for 2026/2027, but implementation is suspended. It does not provide a semester-by-semester payment schedule.
Payment deadlineNo payment deadline, or date for the revised charges to appear on the portal, is stated.

For the registration timetable and lecture dates, see the ABU academic calendar for 2026/2027. Also check subsequent university notices for any separate payment instructions.

How to Pay ABU School Fees 2026/2027

Use ABU’s official student portal to check your individual assessment and current instructions. The 8 October suspension means the tables on this page must not be used as an instruction to pay the revised charges.

Step 1: Visit the Official Portal

Go to the ABU students’ registration portal. Pay only through official ABU channels to avoid fraud.

Step 2: Log In

Sign in with your student credentials.

Step 3: Confirm Your Details

Check that your programme, level and academic session are correct before relying on any displayed charge.

Step 4: Confirm the Current Payable Amount

Check the payable amount and current instructions with ABU’s registration or bursary unit. Do not use the suspended figures above as proof that a particular amount is now due.

Step 5: Make Payment

Follow the payment instructions provided through ABU’s official channels.

Step 6: Confirm and Save Your Receipt

Keep your payment receipt and check that a successful payment is reflected in your student account.

For budgeting, use a current assessment confirmed by ABU for your programme, level and student category. The suspended figures in this article are not a current bill.

Frequently Asked Questions: ABU School Fees

How much are ABU school fees for 2026/2027?

ABU suspended implementation of the revised charges on 8 October 2026. The suspended 5 October schedule listed Nigerian undergraduate amounts from ₦143,000 to ₦298,000, including ₦152,000–₦242,000 for 100 level. The suspension notice gives no replacement rates; confirm current payable fees with ABU.

What is the ABU acceptance fee?

The 2026/2027 bulletin does not itemise a separate acceptance-fee amount, and it does not say whether such a charge is included in the registration total. Confirm with ABU through its official channels before paying.

How much is ABU school fees for Medicine and Surgery?

The suspended 5 October schedule lists Medicine and Surgery (MBBS) at ₦242,000 for 100 level, ₦283,000 for 200 level, ₦263,000 for 300 level, ₦258,000 for 400 and 500 level, and ₦298,000 for 600 level. These are historical schedule figures, not confirmed current payment amounts.

How much is ABU school fees for Law?

In the suspended schedule, LLB Civil Law and LLB with Specialization in Islamic Law are both listed at ₦182,000 for 100 level, ₦203,000 for 200 and 300 level, ₦198,000 for 400 level and ₦218,000 for 500 level. Confirm current payable charges with ABU.

What is the cheapest course at ABU?

The lowest amount in the suspended schedule is ₦143,000, listed for several 200-level and 300-level programmes including Accounting, Economics, Public Administration and some Arts and Education programmes. This does not establish the lowest current payable fee.

How much do foreign students pay at ABU?

The suspended schedule lists tuition of ₦300,000–₦450,000 for non-Nigerian residents and ₦2,050,000–₦4,100,000 for non-Nigerian non-residents. It does not explain all other charges. These are not confirmed current payment amounts.

Can I pay ABU school fees in instalments?

The bulletin states no instalment arrangement. Confirm an approved arrangement with ABU’s registration or bursary unit before making a part-payment.

What is the ABU hostel fee for 2026/2027?

No hostel price is stated in the fee bulletin. Confirm the applicable charge through a current accommodation notice or the student portal.

Is ABU accredited?

Yes. ABU is a federal university accredited by the National Universities Commission (NUC).

Final Thoughts

Implementation of ABU’s revised 2026/2027 charges is suspended pending further consultation. The tables above preserve the 5 October schedule as reference material, not a payment demand. Read the suspension update and confirm current instructions through ABU’s official channels. For more admission information, see our cut-off marks hub.

Sources and correction: The fee tables reproduce ABU’s 5 October 2026 registration-charges bulletin, Vol. 18, No. 65, pages 1–9. The 8 October suspension notice, Vol. 18, No. 67, supersedes its implementation. Checked 11 October 2026: current-payable wording has been corrected; the table figures are unchanged. Report an error with the article link and official notice.

⚠️ Disclaimer: School fees are subject to change by the institution at any time. Always verify on the official ABU portal before making payment. CampusNinja is not affiliated with Ahmadu Bello University and cannot be held responsible for fee changes made after our last update date.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Ayuba Haruna

Ayuba Haruna is the founder and editor of CampusNinja. A Biochemistry graduate of Bayero University Kano, he has blogged professionally since 2021. He writes about admissions, school fees, JAMB and school calendars, and has written about student loans and scholarships for IJMB.com.ng.

Have a question about this article? Contact CampusNinja. Comments are closed.

On this page

Jump straight to the section you need.